Sean Dorsey has been named a 2020 Doris Duke Artist!

We are thrilled to announce that Artistic Director Sean Dorsey has been named a 2020 Doris Duke Artist!

The Doris Duke Artist Awards invest in exemplary individual artists in contemporary dance, jazz, theater who have demonstrated their artistic vitality and commitment to their field.

“The 2020 class of Doris Duke Artists consists of an extraordinary set of creative visionaries, and we are thrilled to award them with this support,” said Maurine Knighton, program director for the arts at the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation. “Each of them has earned this well-deserved recognition, as attested to by a body of their peers through an incredibly rigorous nomination and review process.”

“The work of this year’s Doris Duke Artist Award recipients is profoundly inspiring and brings vibrancy, insight, gravity and light to the world,” said Ed Henry, president and CEO of the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation.

This year’s Doris Duke Artists are:
• Ana María Alvarez (Dance)
• Andrew Cyrille (Jazz)
• Sean Dorsey (Dance)
• Michael John Garcés (Theater)
• Rennie Harris (Dance)
• Cécile McLorin Salvant (Jazz)
• Dael Orlandersmith (Theater)
• Pam Tanowitz (Dance)

Dorsey shared, “The heartbeat of my life is being of service in community. This award is a profound affirmation of that work and will support me to continue and forward my social practice as a transgender artist. I am incredibly honored and humbled to be part of this class of Doris Duke Artists. To be recognized, nominated and selected by my artistic peers in this way is extraordinary.”

Meet the 2020 Doris Duke Artists – learn about all the artists here. And learn more about the Doris Duke Artist Awards here.